Genre: Black Metal
Origin: Austria
Status: Active

The band was formed in 1993 by Peter Kubik and Thomas Tannenberger. After the release of several demos, original vocalist Tharen (Alexander Opitz) left the band and was replaced by Silenius (Michael Gregor), who recorded vocals for all Abigor releases until the recording of Channeling the Quintessence of Satan during which he opted to leave the band.[2] Thurisaz[who?], who had been in the thrash metal band Lost Victim together with T.T. in the 1980s, joined the band and finished recordings on Channeling the Quintessence of Satan. In late 1999, T.T. left the band for various reasons (ranging from personal problems to being fed up with what once was the "scene").[2] After his departure, Abigor released two more albums before breaking up in 2003.

In April 2006, P.K. and T.T. decided to join forces again. During the following year, Fractal Possession was released. The band was scheduled to release a split EP in 2008 with French black metal group Blacklodge. In connection with this release, Abigor was supposedly cooperating with Norwegian experimental artist Zweizz.

Early works by Abigor were loosely inspired by J. R. R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings. The album cover on Orkblut - The Retaliation is a collage of 2 paintings originally made by Lord of the Rings fantasy artist Ian Miller.

The album cover on Channeling the Quintessence of Satan was originally by the German printmaker/artist Albrecht Dürer. (The Knight, Death and the Devil, 1514)

Most Abigor releases were released by Napalm Records.

In a 2007 interview, P.K. explained the band's songwriting process:

"T.T. and I are responsible for the music, A.R. will do the lyrics and vocals, that’s how it works. I create riffs and record it, T.T. too, we send us files, create rough song-structures till we’re satisfied with the result of a song/album-“concept” then we start the recordings at T.T.’s Hell-Lab Studio."[3]


Studio albums
- Verwüstung / Invoke the Dark Age (1994)
- Nachthymnen (From the Twilight Kingdom) (1995)
- Opus IV (1996)
- Supreme Immortal Art (1998)
- Channeling the Quintessence of Satan (1999)
- Satanized (A Journey Through Cosmic Infinity) (2001)
- Fractal Possession (2007)
- Time Is the Sulphur in the Veins of the Saint - An Excursion on Satan's Fragmenting Principle (2010)
- Leytmotif Luzifer (The 7 Temptations of Man) (2014)

- Orkblut - The Retaliation (1995)
- Apokalypse (1997)
- Structures of Immortality (1998)
- Shockwave 666 (2004)

- Ash Nazg... (1993)
- Lux Devicta Est (1993)
- Promo Tape 2/94 (1994)
- Moonrise (1994)
- In Hate & Sin (1994)
- Supreme Immortal Art (Instrumental 1997) (2015)

- Supreme and Immortal Is the Art of the Devil (2013)

- Origo Regium 1993-1994 (1998)
- In Memory... (2000)
- Verwüstung / Invoke the Dark Age - Opus IV (2004)
- Nachthymnen (From The Twilight Kingdom) / Orkblut - The Retaliation (2004)
- Quintessence (2010)

Boxed Set
- 1994-1998: The Complete Hörnix Recordings (2015)

- Creation of a Dark Age (1994)


Current members:
P.K. - Guitars (1993-2003, 2006-present), Bass (2006-present)
T.T. - Guitars, Drums (1993-2000, 2006-present), Bass (2006-present)

Past members:
Rune - Vocals (1993-1994)
Silenius - Vocals (1994-1999)
Thurisaz - Bass, Vocals (1999-2001)
Moritz Neuner - Drums (1999-2003)
Lukas Lindenberger - Drums (2006)
A.R. - Vocals (2006-2013)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.