Akercocke - Renaissance In Extremis

Genre: Progressive Black/Death Metal
Origin: United Kingdom
Status: Active

Akercocke are an English extreme metal band from London, formed in 1997 by Jason Mendonca and David Gray. The band also features Paul Scanlan.

Akercocke's first album, Rape of the Bastard Nazarene, was self-released by the band in 1999. Akercocke later signed to Peaceville Records, releasing The Goat of Mendes in 2001, which reached number 4 in Terrorizer's album of the year chart. In 2003 the album Choronzon was released, through Earache Records. This album was voted number 1 metal release of the year by Terrorizer. Paul Scanlan left the band after this album, and was replaced by Matt Wilcock.

Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone was released in October 2005. On 18 January 2007, Peter Theobalds left the band, and was replaced by Peter Benjamin.

Akercocke released their fifth album, Antichrist, in May 2007. Whilst touring to promote the album, due to the perceived anti-Christian nature of the music, the band generated controversy in Northern Ireland when they scheduled a tour date in Belfast on 18 May 2007, and appeared on BBC1's debate show Nolan Live on 16 May 2007 to defend their right to play the gig. The band broke up in 2012 following extensive periods of inactivity. Prior to the break up, Akercocke were planning to release a DVD based on their 10-year anniversary as a band, though this was never released.

Akercocke revealed a surprise reunion as a band in 2016, featuring original Guitarist Paul Scanlan returning to the band along with newcomer Nathanael Underwood on bass guitar. The band posted a brand new song on YouTube, titled 'Inner Sanctum' on 24 April 2016. The launch of a new official website on 25 April 2016 was followed on 26 April 2016 with the announcement of a series of reunion shows starting with Bloodstock Open Air 2016, and a Full UK tour. A new album, Renaissance in Extremis, is now set to be released on August 25, 2017. It will be the band's first new release in over a decade.


Studio albums
- Rape of the Bastard Nazarene (1999)
- The Goat of Mendes (2001)
- Choronzon (2003)
- Words That Go Unspoken, Deeds That Go Undone (2005)
- Antichrist (2007)
- Renaissance in Extremis (2017)

- 1998 Promo (1998)

- Eyes of the Dawn (Demo) / The Fulcrum (2005)


Current members:
David Gray - Drums (1997-2012, 2016-present)
Paul Scanlan - Guitars (1997-2003, 2016-present)
Jason Mendonça - Guitars, Vocals (1997-2012, 2016-present)
Nathanael Underwood - Bass (2016-present)

Past members:
Peter Theobalds - Bass (1997-2007)
Martin Bonsoir - Keyboards, Samples (1997-2003)
Daniel "The Ritz" Reeves - Keyboards (2003-2006)
Matt Wilcock - Guitars (2004-2010)
Rob Archibald - Keyboards (2006-2010)
Peter Benjamin - Bass (2007-2012)
Dan Knight - Guitars (2011-2012)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.