Genre: Death/Doom Metal
Origin: Netherlands
Status: Active

The band was formed in 1987 by Bob Bagchus and Tonny Brookhuis. Eric Daniels was found as a second guitarist and Chuck Colli joined on vocals and bass; this combo released the Enter the Domain demo.

In March 1989 Colli was replaced Theo Loomans and they recorded the Crush the Cenotaph demo. Brookhuis then left the band and the remaining three recorded Embrace the Death album which was never released due to label problems.

After Martin van Drunen left Pestilence in the early 1990s, he joined Asphyx and the band signed to Century Media Records. After the release of their debut album The Rack they went on a European tour with Entombed. Followed by a tour with Bolt Thrower and Benediction in 1992. Shortly after the recording of the second album Last One on Earth Van Drunen left the band, to be replaced by Ron van der Pol. Eventually Baghus left the band as well. He was replaced by Sander van Hoof.

The self-titled album was released in 1994 and led to the band's demise in 1995.

In 1995 Loomans and Baghus reformed Asphyx and recorded the God Cries. Around the same time also the Embrace the Death album was released. Nevertheless the band split up again after the release. In 1998, Theo Loomans died in a car accident, and some time later Soulburn was founded by Baghus and Daniels, together with Pentacle singer and bassist Wannes Gubbles they recorded the Feeding on Angels album.

In 1999 they renamed the project into Asphyx and recorded the On the Wings of Inferno album with the same lineup. However, Asphyx disbanded again in 2000.

In January 2007, the band re-united with Van Drunen, Gubbels, Paul Baayens and Baghus. They do not intended to record a new album, but focused on live performances.

In Jaunary 2008, they recorded one cover version of a Celtic Frost song and a new song called Death... The Brutal Way.


Studio albums
- The Rack (1991)
- Last One on Earth (1992)
- Asphyx (1994)
- God Cries (1996)
- Embrace the Death (1996)
- On the Wings of Inferno (2000)
- Death... the Brutal Way (2009)
- Deathhammer (2012)

- Crush the Cenotaph (1992)
- Reign of the Brute (2012)

- Carnage Remains (1988)
- Enter the Domain (1988)
- Crush the Cenotaph (1989)
- Promo '91 (1991)
- Promo '95 (1995)

- Mutilating Process (1989)
- Death the Brutal Way (2008)

- In the Eyes of Death (1991)
- Asphyx / Hooded Menace (2011)
- Imperial Anthems (2011)

- Depths of Eternity (2009)
- Abomination Echoes (2010)

Boxed Set
- Embrace the Death (2015)

Live Album
- Live Death Doom (2010)


Current members:
Martin van Drunen - Vocals (1990-1992, 2007-present), Bass (1991-1992)
Paul Baayens - Guitars (2007-present)
Alwin Zuur - Bass (2010-present)
Stefan Hüskens - Drums (2014-present)

Past members:
A.J. van Drenth - Unknown
Joost - Bass, Vocals (1987-1988)
Christian Colli - Bass, Vocals (1987-1989)
Bob Bagchus - Drums (1987-1993, 1996, 1997-2000, 2007-2014)
Tony Brookhuis - Guitars (1987-1989)
Ronnie van der Wey - Guitars (1988-1989, 1995)
Theo Loomans - Bass, Guitars, Vocals (1989-1990, 1996, 1997)
Eric Daniels - Guitars (1989-1995, 1997-2000)
Ron van Pol - Bass, Vocals (1992-1994)
Sander van Hoof - Drums (1994)
Heiko Hanke - Keyboards (1994)
Wannes Gubbels - Bass, Vocals (1997-2000, 2007-2010)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.