Dark Fortress

Dark Fortress

Genre: Melodic Black Metal
Origin: Germany
Status: Active

Formed in 1994 the German black metal outfit DARK FORTRESS have established themselves in the top ranks of the genre with intense live shows and fascinating, pitch black full-length masterpieces that meet the standard created mostly in northern Europe’s prolific scenes with ease.

Tours with Satyricon, Shining and Posthum in December 2009 and with Serpentcult and Farsot in 2010 further cemented their status as one of Europe's outstanding Black Metal acts. In 2012, Dark Fortress embarked on a European tour with Nachtmystium, Verdelet and Phlefonyaar / Wraithcult.

The band will be on a small European tour with Secrets of the Moon and Schammasch in october 2014 to promote the release of their new album Venereal Dawn.

“What happens to life on earth if the fragile laws of nature are altered even by a little bit? How can the human psyche deal with the perspective of inevitable extinction? How far can the human soul be stripped before its essence vanishes completely? Can we contain the implications of forced and radical evolution and the insanity it brings?” Questions raised by DARK FORTRESS frontman and lyricist Morean on the band’s 7th studio album “Venereal Dawn”. Like most previous DARK FORTRESS albums, “Venereal Dawn” is again a concept album. Its nine songs weave a tale of survival, betrayal and sacrifice in an extremely hostile environment.

“Venereal Dawn” is scheduled for a release on the following dates:
Europe, Australia / NZ: September 1st, 2014
USA, Canada: September 2nd, 2014

Three years in the making, “Venereal Dawn” will take the band's traditionally rich musical spectrum further than ever. Always aiming for an innovative equilibrium between hellish black metal, sophisticated melancholy, atmospheres of metaphysical horror and a deep occult spirituality, the album will be a substantial offering to DARK FORTRESS' already extensive back catalogue. DARK FORTRESS have never taken the challenge of making a new album lightly, and again took a radically uncompromising attitude in concept and composing. Many songs were written since 2010's “Ylem”, and many were discarded again to make sure the new material would be able to exceed previous releases in quality, relevance and authenticity. Increasing scheduling conflicts with the member's other bands and jobs, as well as the humongous amount of hours that this endeavor required, had forced the band to postpone this release a few times in recent years. At the end of an excessive recording session in late 2013, nine songs were chosen to mark the band's 20-year anniversary with what they hope will become a landmark album in their long career.
Expect epic song structures, mighty sonic cathedrals, virulent and sinister magic and lots of unexpected twists and turns as the bands drags you screaming and headbanging through the abysmal roller coaster of their universe once more.


Studio albums
- Tales from Eternal Dusk (2001)
- Profane Genocidal Creations (2003)
- Stab Wounds (2004)
- Séance (2006)
- Eidolon (2008)
- Ylem (2010)
- Venereal Dawn (2014)

- The Rebirth of the Dark Age (1996)

- Towards Immortality (1997)


Current members:
Asvargr - Guitars (1994-present)
Draug - Bass (2000-present)
Seraph - Drums (2001-present)
V. Santura - Guitars (2001-present)
Morean - Vocals (2007-present)
Phenex - Keyboards (2015-present)

Past members:
Njord - Bass (1994-1997)
Azathoth - Vocals (1994-2007)
Walter "Crom" Grosse - Bass, Guitars (1997-2001)
Charon - Drums (1997-2001)
Zoltan - Guitars (1997-2000)
Thamuz - Keyboards (1997)
Paymon - Keyboards (1998-2014)

Dark Fortress

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.