Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Genre: Melodic Death Metal/Metalcore
Origin: United States
Status: Active

Formation (1995−1999)
Darkest Hour formed in 1995 and initially consisted of vocalist John Henry, guitarist Michael Schleibaum, bassist Raul Mayorga and drummer Matt Maben.

The band released its first EP titled The Misanthrope in 1996 on a local label called Death Truck Records. In 1999, Darkest Hour released another EP titled The Prophecy Fulfilled on another label called Art Monk Construction.

The Mark of the Judas and So Sedated, So Secure (2000−2002)

The addition of second guitarist Fred Ziomek, bassist Billups Allen and drummer Ryan Parrish saw the band release their first full-length LP The Mark of the Judas in 2000, on the now-defunct M.I.A. Records.

The Mark of the Judas was not widely promoted or distributed due to M.I.A. Records going out of business not long after the album's release.

Despite the fact Darkest Hour were left without a label, the band garnered enough exposure to catch the attention of Victory Records. Their Victory debut So Sedated, So Secure was released on August 7, 2001. After the release of the album, Billups was replaced by Paul Burnette and Ziomek left the band. The album was re-issued by Victory on March 7, 2006, and featured new artwork, re-mixed audio, re-recorded vocals and additional tracks.

The band continued to tour with Schleibaum's longtime friend Mike Garrity, filling in on lead guitar duties. Eventually, they accepted Parrish's old friend, Kris Norris as the new lead guitarist, and then began to write their next record.

While Garrity was the guitarist, the band was arrested and jailed in Roland, Oklahoma for alleged marijuana charges, also for "illegally imported" beer and for an open beer can. They were fined for $6000; Schleibaum was able to pay for himself, Burnette, and Garrity. Ryan and John had to stay for a couple of hours while the rest of the band had to get money to bail them out.

Hidden Hands of a Sadist Nation and Undoing Ruin (2003−2006)
Their second release Hidden Hands of a Sadist Nation was released on May 20, 2003. Produced by well-renowned Swedish record producer Fredrik Nordström, the album signaled a shift from the band's previous metalcore style to a more melodic death metal style. As a result, the album gained strong mainstream attention, to the point where they were asked to participate at Ozzfest 2004. Notably, the album contained political lyrics, with several songs criticizing American militarism post-September 11. The album was re-issued by Victory on July 13, 2004, with a bonus song and an additional DVD containing bonus material.

Darkest Hour released their fourth full-length LP Undoing Ruin on June 28, 2005. The album was produced by Devin Townsend (Strapping Young Lad) at Greenhouse Studios in Vancouver. The album was the band's first to enter the Billboard 200 charts, debuting at #138 with first week sales of 8,484.

Deliver Us (2007−present)
In early 2007, the band was in Vancouver to work on their next record with Townsend. On March 7, 2007, Victory Records issued a press statement confirming the title of the album was Deliver Us; it was released on July 10.

In April 2008, Darkest Hour created a Washington Capitals fight song and a MySpace tribute page in support of the Capitals 2008 Stanley Cup playoffs run. The song "1,000 Words to Say but One" was re-recorded with new lyrics and new solos into "Let's Go Caps!"

In the 2005 documentary Metal: A Headbanger's Journey, Darkest Hour and a number of other bands including Shadows Fall, Lamb of God, Chimaira, Killswitch Engage, Unearth, and God Forbid are all listed under the category "New Wave of American Metal" in the "metal genealogy chart".

In September 2008, it was reported on Blabbermouth.net that Kris Norris had left the band and would be pursuing producing routes and possibly a new band.

Not long after Kris Norris' departure, they found replacement Mike "Lonestar" Carrigan. With Lonestar officially on board the band is heading back into the studio to write & record with Producer Brian McTernan of Baltimore's Salad Days Studio.


Studio albums
- The Mark of the Judas  (2000)
- So Sedated, So Secure  (2001)
- Hidden Hands of a Sadist Nation  (2003)
- Undoing Ruin  (2005)
- Deliver Us  (2007)
- The Eternal Return  (2009)
- The Human Romance  (2011)
- Darkest Hour  (2014)

- Darkest Hour  (1996)

- The Misanthrope  (1996)
- The Prophecy Fulfilled  (1999)

- Deliver Us  (2007)
- No God  (2009)
- Painkiller / I Don’t Want to Hear it  (2015)

- Darkest Hour / Groundzero  (1999)
- Where Heroes Go to Die  (2002)
- Darkest Hour / Set My Path  (2004)

- Party Scars and Prison Bars: A Thrashography  (2005)

- Archives  (2006)


Current members:
Mike Schleibaum - Guitars (1995-present)
John Henry - Vocals (1995-present)
Michael Carrigan - Guitars (2008-present)
Aaron Deal - Bass (2011-present)
Travis Orbin - Drums (2013-present)

Past members:
Raul Mayorga - Bass (1995-1998)
Matt Maben - Drums (1995-1999)
Billups Allen - Bass (1999-2001)
Ryan Parrish - Drums (1999-2011)
Fred Ziomek - Guitars (1999-2002)
Paul Burnette - Bass (2001-2011)
Kris Norris - Guitars (2002-2008)

Darkest Hour

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.