Genre: Melodic Death/Groove Metal
Origin: Finland
Status: Active

Four piece Finnish metal-bulldozer Diablo was born in the late 1990's and recorded it´s first mini-album "Princess" catching a record deal with Poko Rekords. The first album "Elegance in Black" was released in 2000 and was described as a powerful punch in the face.

In 2002 after releasing the second album Renaissance, which went straight to number 14 on the Finnish Top 40, Diablo played gigs on several summer festivals. Most important of them was the internationally known Tuska-festival in Helsinki. The band also made a video of the album´s opening track "Angel". Diablo took a strong place in the Finnish metal music scene with these two albums.

The expectations for the third album increased to a high level when the release date got closer. The hype around the band was enormous. And just before the third album´s release, Finnish most popular music show "Levyraati" broadcasted their brand new video of the song "Read My Scars", also released as a single (staying nine weeks on the single chart, topping at number three). The video got so much feedback that even the grannies knew the group after that!

Diablo - that hails in the names of Testament, Slayer and Death- released it's latest album Eternium on the 19th of January 2004. It went straight to number 3 on the chart, staying for eight weeks on the Finnish Top 40. The band got awesome media interest. Most of the gigs were sold out and the forthcoming summer seems to be a busy time for the group. Diablo, Finland's brightest metal hope, is known as a super live act, capable of producing their enormous roar also on stage.

Eternium's 11 songs consist of ass-kicking down-tuned guitar riffs decorated with melodic sologuitar harmonies. Vocals are a combination of crunch and clean parts with great melodies. This kind of metal hasn´t been available before. The hot chilisoup has been cooked by Diablo itself. Rainer (rhythm guitar & vocals) and Marko (solo guitar) are responsible for composing and writing the lyrics. The drummer Heikki is phenomenal young talent and the bass player Aadolf the long-hair show man of the band.

Diablo show has started. Take a seat and check your safety belts, Total Brutal Metal is coming!

Behold, the flames will rise from Finland!


Studio albums
- Elegance in Black  (2000)
- Renaissance  (2002)
- Eternium  (2004)
- Mimic47  (2006)
- Icaros  (2008)
- Silvër Horizon  (2015)

- Princess  (1999)
- Intomesee  (2002)
- Read My Scars  (2003)
- Mimic47  (2005)
- Damien  (2005)
- Icaros  (2008)

- Classics  (2013)


Current members:
Heikki Malmberg - Drums (2001-present)
Aadolf Virtanen - Bass (1999-present)
Marko Utriainen - Guitars (1999-present)
Rainer Nygård - Guitars, Vocals (1999-present)

Past members:
Timo Kemppainen - Drums (1999-2001)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.