Genre: Brutal Death Metal/Grindcore
Origin: United States
Status: Split-up

It is very rare to find a band that can properly translate their hatred and brutality onto disc, but this Chicago-based quartet have accomplished this seemingly impossible task with ease. Taking their extreme metal savagery one step further with "Murder Without End", the mighty Fleshgrind proves that they are out for blood and are stopping at nothing until they annihilate audiences worldwide. This is a record perfectly fit for people who are looking for the most unrelenting music they can possibly find.

In March of 1993, Rich Lipscomb (guitarist/vocalist) and Dave Barbolla (drums) got together with the sole intention of writing the most extreme music possible to counteract the stagnant death metal scene. Once they recruited Steve Murray (guitars) and Casey Ryba (bass), Fleshgrind was created. In November 1993, they entered the studio to record their now infamous "Holy Pedophile" demo. Due to their nonstop self-promotion and great work ethic, "Holy Pedophile" earned Fleshgrind a spot in the elite underground, as it went on to sell over 2500 copies. Their next demo "Sorrow Breeds Hatred... Bleed On Me" was recorded in April of 1995 and helped the band secure their first record deal with Pulverizer Records.

The group immediately headed to Quali-Tone Studios with Brian Griffin (Broken Hope, Internal Bleeding) to record "Destined For Defilement", their first full-length album. During the recording process they also enlisted the skills of Ray Vasquez to handle bass duties. This album was released in August of 1997, and featured nine brand-new songs of relentless brutality. Although they were now on a label, the group still believed in nonstop self-promotion and they knew that they could not rely on anyone but themselves. Unfortunately, due to financial problems, Pulverizer Records was no longer able to press their disc, so Fleshgrind decided to take it upon themselves to print their own copies.

Soon after the album's release, Vasquez decided to leave the band and Dave Barbolla was asked to leave for personal reasons. The group wasted no time in acquiring new bassist James Genenz and new drummer Alan Collado and promptly proceeded to hit the road. After numerous shows with the likes of Broken Hope, Dying Fetus, Internal Bleeding, Malevolent Creation, Six Feet Under, Deicide, Cannibal Corpse and a five week long US tour with Mortician, the group developed a loyal underground fanbase. Refreshed with new members, they began composing new material that was just as catchy as the classic Fleshgrind material, while incorporating more chaotic and technical elements. Due to their relentless self-promotion and rabid underground fanbase they caught the attention of Olympic Recordings, who immediately offered them a deal.

With a bigger labels support, Fleshgrind quickly entered the studio to record their second full length album. In November 2000, "The Seeds Of Abysmal Torment" was released and this the groups most diverse and pummeling release to date. Unfortunately, the band was unable to perform many shows in support of this record, as just before release Rich Lipscomb broke his leg, requiring three surgeries and almost 18 months recovery time. Once he recovered and the band was ready to get back on its feet, they were hit with another roadblock in May of 2002 when their drummer abruptly left the band.

Fleshgrind soon enlisted former Gorgasm skinsman Derek Hoffman and then began composing new material. In early 2003, the group entered Studio One with producer Chris Djuricic (Origin, Jungle Rot, Novembers Doom) and came out with an album filled with an utter contempt and hatred for everything around them. The new effort, "Murder Without End", is a ten track slab of aggression that will proceed to beat the listener mercilessly with each track that passes by.

Fleshgrind's tours have included US Tours with Mortician, Dead For Days, a Canadian mini tour with Suffocation, a European tour with Germany's Resurrected and Sweden's Coercion. In 2004 the band was again hit with the unfortunate dilemma of losing a drummer, as Derek decided to split just before touring was to commence. After a few months passed, Fleshgrind welcomed Jesse Kehoe (Screaming Afterbirth, Foetopsy) to the fold as the new drummer. Fleshgrind officially disbanded on Halloween of 2005.

Rich Lipscomb is now in private business in Holistic Healing and Steve Murray was recently married and is not active musically at the moment, but has plans to play again soon. James Genenz went on to play bass in Jungle Rot, while Jesse Kehoe is still playing drums in Screaming Afterbirth and doing vokills for Foetopsy.


Studio albums
- Destined for Defilement  (1997)
- The Seeds of Abysmal Torment  (2000)
- Murder Without End  (2003)

- Holy Pedophile  (1993)
- Sorrow Breeds Hatred... Bleed on Me  (1995)

- Live in Germany / Live at Fuck the Commerce III  (2002)
- Living... / ...Dead  (2003)

Live Album
- Live in Germany  (2002)


Last known lineup:
Steve Murray - Guitars (1993-2005)
Rich Lipscomb - Guitars, Vocals (1993-1998), Vocals (1998-2005)
James Genenz - Bass (1998-2005)
Jesse Kehoe - Drums (2004-2005)

Past members:
Casey Ryba - Bass (1993-1997)
Dave Barbolla - Drums (1993-1997)
Ray Vazquez - Bass (1997)
Alan Collado - Drums (1998-2002)
Derek Hoffman - Drums (2002-2004)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.