Goat the Head

Goat the Head

Genre: Death Metal
Origin: Norway
Status: Active

Contemporary Primal Caveman Death Metal is the classification of the feral phenomena which by the turn of the millennium inevitably had to come into existence. Catalysed by a series of erratic events, a distressed habitat and an indigenous appetite, carnal metal band Goat the Head was spawned on the muddy riverbanks of Nidelva in the Norwegian wilderness.

The birth cry was the impetuous mini album Neander Tales (Left Horn Records, 2006). This marked the band’s violent invasion unto the live stage, where their bizarre and entrancing performance generated plenty of underground notoriety, as well as the opportunity for the debut full length album, Simian Supremacy (TABU Recordings, 2007), to be unleashed upon their fans. Following in its wake was an cinematic, award-nominated cult promo video for the track Darwinian Minions, a London boxing ring smack-down, a tour of the UK, a quest to represent Norwegian metal in Texas, and several unforgettable concerts and festival appearances. Then the band crawled into a minor hiatus to evolve and procreate.

In 2010, Goat the Head once again emerged from the mire, releasing their sophomore album, curiously entitled "Doppelgangers" (Aftermath Music, 2010). Mixed and mastered by the renowned Tue Madsen, the album boasts 10 furious tracks exerting about every colour of the metal palette!

As Goat the Head embarked on a small tour in February 2011, an obscure, limited and exclusive 7 inch vinyl record named Wicked Mimicry (Left Horn Records 2011) surfaced, showing a broad range of musical styles with one original track and three cover songs.

Look out! The Doppelgängers are approaching. Please gird brain for explosion!


Studio albums
- Simian Supremacy  (2007)
- Doppelgängers  (2010)

- Neander Tales  (2006)
- Wicked Mimicry  (2011)


Current members:
Ketil Sæther - Guitars, Vocals (additional) (2002-present)
Per Spjøtvold - Vocals, Keyboards (2002-present)
Kenneth Kapstad - Drums, Vocals (additional) (2006-present)
Trond Frønes - Bass, Vocals (additional) (2009-present)

Past members:
Snorre A. Hovdal - Bass
Vyl - Drums

Goat the Head

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.