Genre: Brutal Death Metal
Origin: Netherlands
Status: Active

Houwitser originally started in 1997 and was formed by Michel Alderliefsten (ex-Sinister). Completing the line-up with vocalist Mike (ex-Sinister), drummer Aad (Sinister) and bass player Theo (Hail of Bullets). The debut album‘Death.. But Not Buried' was released by Displeased Records in the spring of 1999 and got great reviews and good sales. The end of that year Houwitser parted with their singer Mike.

Houwitser’s second album ‘Embrace Damnation’ was released with a music video for “Feeding on Fools”. In 2001 Houwitser signed with Osmose Productions and their third album ‘Rage Inside The Womb’ saw the light of day in 2002. This was the start of a tour all over the entire European continent. In 2004, after the release of the album ‘Damage Assessment‘, the band split up. Displeased Records re-released the debut album ‘Death... but not buried’ with 7 bonus tracks and new artwork.

The split of Houwitser left a bad vibe with guitarist Michel. In 2008 the Dutch death metal-commandos wrote a new chapter in the history of Houwitser. In 2009 Houwitser signed a new record deal with U.S.A. based Sevared Records, who released Bestial Atrocity early 2010. Their fifth album ‘Bestial Atrocity’ marked the rebirth of the ferocious 'Terror Legion'.

Late 2011, the original frontman Mike van Mastrigt, drummer Marten van Kruijssen and bass player Roderick Ras where recruited for the Terror Legion. While the new line up was working on Houwitser's sixth release, Coyote Records released a live DVD of one of the shows of Houwitser's Russia mini-tour.

The Dutch death metal commandos will strike again with the upcoming sixth album! Heavier and more brutal than ever, Houwitser will March over stages, blasting their thundering death metal!
Watch out for Houwitser!


Studio albums
- Death... but Not Buried (1998)
- Embrace Damnation (2000)
- Rage Inside the Womb (2002)
- Damage Assessment (2003)
- Bestial Atrocity (2010)

- Promo (1997)

- Sledgehammer Redemption (2009)

- March to Die (2001)

- Houwitser / Professional Sometimes Goes Off Arm Too (1998)

- Moscow Atrocity (2012)


Current members:
Michel Alderliefsten - Guitars (1997-2002, 2007-present)
Mike van Mastrigt - Vocals (1997-1999, 2012-present)
Richard Gielen - Guitars (2007-present)
Marten van Kruijssen - Drums (2011-present)
Roderick Ras - Bass (2012-present)

Past members:
Theo van Eekelen - Bass (1997-2004)
Aad Kloosterwaard - Drums (1997-2004)
Arjaan "Djortzzz" Kampman - Vocals (1999-2001)
Alex Paul - Guitars (2001-2004)
Stan Blonk - Vocals (2002-2004, 2007-2011)
Ramon Ploeg - Bass (2007-2012)
Marco de Groot - Drums (2007-2011)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.