In Vain

In Vain

Genre: Progressive Death/Black Metal
Origin: Norway
Status: Active

Formed by three young music enthusiasts back in 2003, the band has already released two highly critically acclaimed self financed EP's; Will the Sun Ever Rise and Wounds "Will the Sun Ever Rise"(2004), a three-track EP of unrelenting atmosphere, aggression and complexity. The EP was embraced by metal heads and journalists alike. Fuelled by the standing ovations and the great response from a united metal press, the band was soon back in the studio to record yet another, entitled "Wounds". Wounds was released December 2005. The music was more diverse, progressive and dramatic than. ever, without sacrificing the brutal edge of its predecessor. Already at this point in the band's recording career the strong musical craftsmanship is obvious with guest musicians playing saxophone, cello and percussion. Just like its' debut EP, Wounds received fantastic reviews and the band was launched as one of the most promising acts in the extreme metal scene.


Studio albums
- The Latter Rain  (2007)
- Mantra  (2010)
- Ænigma  (2013)

- Will the Sun Ever Rise?  (2004)

- Wounds  (2005)

- Against the Grain  (2013)


Current members:
Johnar Håland - Guitars, Vocals (backing) (2003-present)
Sindre Nedland - Keyboards, Piano, Organ, Vocals (additional) (2003-present)
Andreas Frigstad - Vocals (2003-present)
Stig Reinhardtsen - Drums (2005-present)
Kristian Wikstøl - Bass, Vocals (additional) (2006-present)
Kjetil D. Pedersen - Guitars, Vocals (backing) (2010-present)

Past members:
Ole Vistnes - Bass
Magnus Olav Tveiten - Guitars (2005-2006)
Even Fuglestad - Guitars (2006-2008)

In Vain

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.