Genre: Death/Black Metal
Origin: Canada
Status: Active

Mitochondrion has crafted a crushing twisted death metal sound with often contrasting elements of atmosphere and chaos, technicality and primitiveness, melody and brutality - all the while not allowing themselves to be constrained by any conventions.

Formed in 2003, Mitochondrion have released a self-titled demo as well as a demo entitled Through Cosmic Gaze. Making some adjustments over the years to their line-up, the band eventually earned more of a following with the release of their debut full-length, entitled Archaeaeon, which was released independently.

Following their split with Gyibaaw in 2010, Mitochondrion signed a record deal with Profound Lore for the release of their defining follow-up to Archaeaeon - Parasignosis, which was released in 2011.


Studio albums
- Archaeaeon  (2008)
- Parasignosis  (2011)

- Mitochondrion  (2005)
- Through Cosmic Gaze  (2006)

- Antinumerology  (2013)

- Rituals of Transcendence / Liimk Halaayt  (2010)
- In Cronian Hour  (2016)


Current members:
Shawn Hache - Vocals (lead), Guitars (2003-present)
Nick Yanchuk - Vocals, Guitars, Bass (2003-present)
Karl Godard - Drums, Keyboards (2006-present)
Sebastian Montesi - Bass, Vocals (2013-present)

Past members:
Nick Gibas - Bass, Noise (2003-2009)
Jesse Anderson - Drums (2003-2006)
Mitch Aramenko - Guitars (lead) (2003-2007)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.