Obscura (Ger)


Genre: Progressive Death Metal
Origin: Germany
Status: Active

The progressive German death metal band OBSCURA was founded in 2002 by guitarist/vocalist Steffen Kummerer. The band caused a stir when they – out of nowhere – toured as support for Suffocation on their European tour in 2006 and when they independently released their debut album ‘Retribution’ that same year. After several lineup changes, Kummerer enlisted a team of virtuoso musicians.

With their break through album ‘Cosmogenesis’ Obscura cracked the US Billboard charts and embarked their first worldwide tour visiting North America, Europe and Japan. With the release of ‘Omnivium’ the band prooved their status as a unique group of talented musicians and set new standards in the genre of progressive death metal. Entering US & European charts with their latest release, the ‘Omnivium Worldtour’ started with it’s release in March 2011. After intense touring, the band is now preparing for the yet untitled fourth album.



Studio albums
- Retribution (2006)
- Cosmogenesis (2009)
- Omnivium (2011)

- Illegimitation (2003)
- Promo (2008)

- Illegimitation (2012)


Current members
- Steffen Kummerer - Guitars, Vocals (2002-present)
- Linus Klausenitzer - Bass (fretless) (2011-present)
- Sebastian Lanser - Drums (2014-present)
- Tom Geldschläger - Guitars, Guitars (fretless) (2014-present)

Past members
 - Ketzer - Bass, Vocals (2002-2004)
- Jonas Baumgartl - Drums, Cello (2002-2007)
- Armin Seitz - Guitars (2002-2004)
- Andreas Nusko "Hank" - Bass (2004-2005)
- Jürgen Zintz - Guitars (2004-2005) (R.I.P. 2005)
- Ernst Wurdak "Azmo" - Guitars (2004-2005)
- Jonas Fischer - Bass (2005-2007)
- Markus Lempsch - Guitars, Vocals (2005-2007)
- Jeroen Paul Thesseling -Bass (fretless) (2007-2011)
- Hannes Grossmann -Drums (2007-2014)
- Johannes Rennig - Guitars (2007)
Christian Münzner     Guitars (2008-2014)

Obscura - German Technical Death Metal

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.