Genre: Thrash/Death Metal (early), Death/Black Metal with Folk Influences (later)
Origin: Singapore
Status: Active

Rudra was formed way back in mid 1992 as a trio, then comprising of Kathi (bass, vocals), Shiva (drums) & Bala (Guitars). Back then, the band was known as Rudhra. Eventually a fourth member, Selvam, was included to intensify the guitar department. With this line-up released a 4-track Demo entitled The Past in 1994. Prior to this release, Rudhra was also featured in a few underground Death Metal compilation albums featuring several Singaporean Death Metal Bands.

In early 1996, the band decided to take a break abandoning a new direction it was already taking. After the break-up, the members of Rudhra got involved in several other bands. Towards the end of 1996, Kathi decided to resurrect Rudhra with a slight alteration to its name; thus Rudra (the most common English transliteration for the Sanskrit word 'Rudra', the Hindu god of storm and a violent form of god Shiva). Immediately Kathi teamed up with Shiva and started work on the self-titled debut album. Bala and Alvin were included to complete the line up before the recording of the self-titled debut album in late 1997, which was released in June 1998. The band played a couple of gigs and took a break for about a year before starting work on their new material. Rudra replaced their two guitarists with Selvam (ex-member) and Kannan in Jan 2000. With this present line up Rudra released their second album, The Aryan Crusade, in September 2001.

The Aryan Crusade broke new grounds and won them attention from all parts of the world. With many good reviews, this album created a cult following for Rudra in parts of the world. In July 2003, Rudra released their most intense album to date aptly named after the battlefield featured in the great Indian epic Mahabharata, Kurukshetra. Kurukshetra broke new grounds which further won new fans for Rudra. After many shows both in their homeland and other countries, Rudra released its epoch making release Brahmavidya: Primordial I in April 2005. Brahmavidya: Transcendental I was released 2009 and Brahmavidya: Immortal I in 2011.


Studio albums
- Rudra  (1998)
- The Aryan Crusade  (2001)
- Kurukshetra  (2003)
- Brahmavidya: Primordial I  (2005)
- Brahmavidya: Transcendental I  (2009)
- Brahmavidya: Immortal I  (2011)
- Ṛta  (2013)
- Enemy of Duality  (2016)

- The Past  (1995)
- Rudra  (1997)

- Metal Legion  (1998)

Live Album
- Brahmavidya Tour 2011  (2013)


Current members:
Shiva - Drums (1992-present)
Kathir - Vocals, Bass (1992-present)
Vinod - Guitars (2009-present)
Simon - Guitars (2013-present)

Past members:
Bala - Guitars (1992-2000)
Selvam - Guitars (1992-1996, 2000-2009)
Alvin - Guitars (1996-2000)
Kannan - Guitars (2000-2007)
Devan - Guitars (2009-2011)
Subash - Guitars (2011-2013)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.