Genre: Brutal Death Metal
Origin: United States
Status: Active

SKINLESS was formed in 1992 by guitarist Noah Carpenter with one goal, to be the heaviest band around. Obituary, Broken Hope, Suffocation, Bolt Thrower, Deicide, Cannibal Corpse and Gorguts were some of the influences. A variety of lineup changes plagued the early years until a solid, dedicated lineup was assembled by 1997 with Noah Carpenter (guitar), Sherwood Webber (vocals), Bob Beaulac (drums) and Joe Keyser (bass). (This formation is often referred to as the 'original' or 'classic' lineup).

In 1998, SKINLESS released their full-length debut 'Progression Towards Evil.' Recorded at Max Trax Studios in Albany, NY 'Progression...' stunned the underground, showcasing the musicianship and energy that the band had become known for via its intense live performances. An entirely independent release, 'Progression...' received frenzied acclaim from press the world over and saw remarkable sales.

SKINLESS embarked on three immensely successful tours in support of 'Progression...' introducing legions of fans to the punishing live SKINLESS experience. The band toured the US with underground legends MORTICIAN on 1999's Chainsaw Tour, and in the Spring of 2000, SKINLESS toured the U.S. and Mexico with INCANTATION, spawning even more followers of the brutal underground revolution. Their subsequent European headlining tour claimed further disciples.

On their Relapse debut 'Foreshadowing Our Demise,' SKINLESS painted violent pictures of utter devastation. 'Foreshadowing Our Demise' sonically documented the endless energy of the band's burly live performances, delivering an annihilating combination of punishing grooves and ultimate brutality. SKINLESS' gut-twisting deathgrind deluged listeners with colossal riffs, chaotic percussion and Webber's scathing vocal attack.

SKINLESS toured as much as possible in 2001/2002, being personally invited to hit the road with the likes of HATEBREED and SIX FEET UNDER, thus furthering their growing following. A high-profile appearance at the 2002 Beast Feast in Japan alongside SLAYER, PANTERA and THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN rounded out over two years of non-stop roadwork in support of 'Foreshadowing...'

Inarguably one of heavy music's most energetic and fast-rising bands, SKINLESS returned in 2003 with 'From Sacrifice To Survival.' Alternating between high-speed salvos and piledriving grooves 'From Sacrifice To Survival' embodies and amplifies the hardest-hitting hallmarks of U.S. metal. Powerful vocals punch through churning guitar crunch in what is the band's finest work to-date. Featuring the stellar production work of Neil Kernon (CANNIBAL CORPSE, JUDAS PRIEST, EXHUMED, etc.) and powerhouse drumming courtesy of John Longstreth (ORIGIN), 'From Sacrifice To Survival' vaulted SKINLESS' musical mania to an untouchable new apex.

Never a band to stay idle for long, SKINLESS hit the road in support of 'From Sacrifice...' joining forces with labelmates DYING FETUS on their summer 2003 Stop At Nothing Tour. The band was then invited to support death metal giants SIX FEET UNDER on their Fall, 2003 U.S. tour, which SKINLESS did to a rousing response.

In the fall of 2004, SKINLESS released their first DVD, Skinflick. Documenting the worldwide antics and world renowned ferocity of the band, Skinflick takes a look inside the world of SKINLESS, from the recording of From Sacrifice to Survival, to live performances on stages the world over.

Shortly after the release of Skinflick, Webber left the band and was replaced by Keyser's brother, Jason. In an inaugural fashion, SKINLESS were quick to get back on the road with Jason in tow. 2005 saw SKINLESS destroying stages with the likes of CRYPTOPSY, CATTLE DECAPITATION, DEICIDE and IMMOLATION. In-between tours, SKINLESS began writing for what will become their fourth full-length album, Trample the Weak, Hurdle the Dead.

On Trample The Weak, Hurdle The Dead SKINLESS pile-drives the standard death metal formula and rallies fans with the forward-charge of wreckage-provoking vocals, demolishing beats, and ravaging riffs. Again, back on the road for a world tour hitting North America, Europe, Australia/New Zealand.

In 2009 Skinless reassembled the 'Classic' lineup from the first 2 albums but only played limited shows until announcing in 2011 that the band had split.

After a 2 year hiatus Skinless has reformed in 2013.

"We Just Won't Stay Dead"


Studio albums
- Progression Towards Evil (1998)
- Foreshadowing Our Demise (2001)
- From Sacrifice to Survival (2003)
- Trample the Weak, Hurdle the Dead (2006)
- Only the Ruthless Remain (2015)

- Demo I (1994)
- Swollen Heaps (1995)

- Miscreant (2002)

- Cold Still Earth (1996)
- Common Ground - A Compilation of Upstate NY's Hardest (1997)
- Maledictive Pigs / Skinless (2001)

- Buzzed & Brutal (2000)
- Skinflick (2004)

- Regression Towards Evil (2007)


Current members:
Noah Carpenter - Guitars (1992-2011, 2013-present)
Sherwood Webber - Vocals (1994-2004, 2010-2011, 2013-present)
Joe Keyser - Bass (1997-2011, 2013-present)
Bob Beaulac - Drums (1997-2002, 2003-2011, 2013-present)
Dave Matthews - Guitars (2013-present)

Past members:
Ted Monsour - Bass (1992-1994)
Dan Bell - Vocals (1992)
Mike Levy - Vocals (1992-1994)
Ryan Wade - Vocals, Drums (1992-1996)
Jeff Vanloan - Bass (1993)
Martin Oprencak - Vocals (1994)
Adam Lewis - Bass (1995-1997)
George Torres - Drums (2002)
John Longstreth - Drums (2003)
Jason Keyser - Vocals (2004-2009)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.