Tengger Cavalry

Tengger Cavalry

Genre: Melodic Death/Folk Metal
Origin: China
Status: Active

Tengger Cavalry was initially formed as a one-man project by Nature Tianran Zhang, who had been taught by Mongolian musicians for years. By September 2010, he released an EP called Blood Sacrifice Shaman, which got reviewed by German magazine Legacy.

After one year's rest, Tengger Cavalry released a double album (which was only available in the China region) in November of 2011. Sunesu Cavalry combines North-Asian folk song with heavy metal more smoothly compared to the first album, and the sound quality along with mixing production improved vastly. Mantra is an experimental folk album using solely acoustic instruments to interpret diverse kinds of North Asian folk music.

The release of the double album brought Tengger Cavalry greater attention. In December of 2011, MTV published an article "Tengger Cavalry's Black Metal For Pagan Hordes" and gave high comments on the music. At the same time, China National Radio gave high recommendations of the new songs too. The success of the albums brought the music to the live stage. The horse-head fiddle (Morin Khuur) player Xin Wang, who was also the student of the famous fiddle artist He Xige, joined in the band at the beginning of 2012, after which the drummer Kai Ding and bassist Wei Wang joined in and the band started to perform in Beijing.

In December 2012, Tengger Cavalry signed with American metal label Metal Hell Records and released its first album Sunesu Cavalry (US Edition) in US & EU regions with 3 new works composed by Nature and Xin together, after which the UK metal magazine Terrorizer did an interview for the band.

In February 2013, Tengger Cavalry released its newest album Black Steed in the Chinese region; several months later Metal Hell Records released the second album of Tengger Cavalry, The Expedition in US & EU regions. The Expedition incorporates 5 old songs from Black Steed and 5 newly composed tracks.

In April 2013, Tengger Cavalry attended the Wacken Metal Battle Competition in China and won the Best Songwriting Award. On May 22nd, Tengger Cavalry did the opening show for the famous metal band Turisas in Beijing, and Turisas gave high comment of the music of Tengger Cavalry.

In 2014, Tengger Cavalry released its new album Ancient Call, with Nature being the main songwriter and Xin Wang, the fiddle player, as the cooperative songwriter.


Studio albums
- 血祭萨满 / Blood Sacrifice Shaman  (2010)
- Cavalry Folk  (2011)
- Sunesu Cavalry  (2012)
- 黑骏 / Black Steed  (2013)
- The Expedition  (2013)
- 远古呼唤 / Ancient Call  (2014)
- Blood Sacrifice Shaman  (2015)
- Ancient Call  (2016)
- Hymn of the Earth  (2016)
- Cavalry in Thousands  (2016)
- Folklore of the Cavalry  (2016)

- Tengger Cavalry  (2010)

- Overture for Carnegie Unplugged  (2015)
- Mountain Side  (2016)
- kAAn  (2016)

- Homeland Song  (2015)
- Horseman  (2015)
- War Horse  (2015)
- War Horse  (2016)
- Mountain Side Club Remix  (2016)
- Paranoid  (2016)
- The Struggle  (2016)
- Homeland Song  (2016)
- Pokémon Gym Battle  (2016)

- Mongol Metal  (2015)

- Grassland Rock  (2016)
- Soundtrack of the Cavalry  (2016)

Live Album
- NJ Transiit: Live in Clifton  (2015)
- Live: Trephagon WRSU FM  (2016)
- Live: West Hollywood  (2016)


Current members:
Nature Ganganbaigal - All instruments (2010-2012), Guitars, Vocals (2012-present)
Alex Abayev - Bass (2015-present)
Robert McLaughlin - Igil (2015-present)
Josh Schifris - Drums (2016-present)
Uljmuren - Morin khuur (2016-present)

Past members:
Mural - Dombra (?-2015)
Hasi - Morin khuur (?-2015)
Wang Wei - Bass (2010-2011, 2012-2015)
Ding Kai - Drums (2012-2015)
Wang Xin - Morin khuur (2012-2013, 2013-2015)
Yuri Liak - Drums (2015-2016)

Tengger Cavalry

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.