Genre: Viking/Black Metal
Origin: Sweden
Status: Active

Thyrfing have delivered their very own brew of metal music since 1995 and after six full-length albums and numerous live performances the band now releases their eagerly awaited new album called “De ödeslösa”, still carrying the integrity and trademarks known since the self-titled debut album in 1998, brought forth through “Valdr Galga” (1999), “Urkraft” (2000), “Vansinnesvisor” (2001), “Farsotstider” (2005) and “Hels vite” (2008), and marks their first new studio album in five years. The band have gained a strong following over the years and an exquisite standing within the metal scene, considered one of the top bands within the so-called viking/pagan metal genre – but on the other hand, Thyrfing are so much more with their truly outstanding and self-contained musical offering.

In 2012 the band signed a deal with NoiseArt Records and Rock the Nation Booking, and soon after started the recordings of the new album, which will be released on March 1st, 2013. The mix and mastering was taken care of by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Paradise Lost, Witchcraft) at Fascination Street Studios.

The band name is taken from the sword “Thyrfing” in Norse mythology – a cursed blade that appears in several tales and myths.


Studio albums
- Thyrfing (1998)
- Valdr Galga (1999)
- Urkraft (2000)
- Vansinnesvisor (2002)
- Farsotstider (2005)
- Hels vite (2008)
- De ödeslösa (2013)

- Solen svartnar (1995)
- Hednaland (1996)

- Hednaland (1999)


Current members:
Joakim "Jocke" Kristensson - Drums (1995-2012), Bass (2012-present)
Patrik Lindgren - Guitars (1995-present)
Jens Rydén - Vocals (2007-present)
Fredrik Hernborg - Guitars (2008-present)
Dennis Ekdahl - Drums (2012-present)

Past members:
Kimmy Sjölund - Bass (1995-2012)
Peter Löf - Keyboards (1995-2014)
Thomas Väänänen - Vocals (1996-2006)
Vintras - Guitars (1998)
Henrik Svegsjö - Guitars (1998-2007)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.