Genre: Death Metal
Origin: Sweden
Status: Active

Uncanny is a Death Metal band from Avesta, Sweden, that were formed 1990. Uncanny released two demos: "Transportation To The Uncanny" 1991 recorded in Sunlight studio with Tomas Skogsberg and "Nyktalgia" 1992 recorded in Unisound studio with Dan Swanö.

Then they recorded again with Swanö for their first album, a split 12" with Ancient Rites that was released by Warmaster Records (Colombia) 1993. Also the full-length album "Splenium For Nyktophobia" CD/Pict 12" released by Unisound Records (Greece) 1994 was recorded with Swanö.

Then the band split up and Fredrik Norrman joined Katatonia, Kennet joined Dellamorte and Moondark, Mats Forsell had his other band Fulmination and Jens continued to do the vocals in Uncurbed.

Several years later in January 2008 Uncanny did a reunion gig at Daniel Ekeroth's second releaseparty for his book "Swedish Death Metal" together with Treblinka and Obscurity. The lineup was updated with Mattias Norrman (ex Katatonia, Dellamorte etc) on bass and Johan Jansson (Interment, Demonical etc) on guitar.

The gig was a blast and a real kick to maybe do some more gigs and maybe record som new stuff but unfortunately nothing happened...

In 2010 Dark Symphonies records released an exclusive trippel LP box including the full-length, the split and the two demos. It was also released on double CD by Dark Descent records 2011.

In the middle of 2011 we get offered to release an 7" inch on Dark Descent. So two brandnew songs were made by Fredrik Norrman that we later recorded in November in studio SoundPeaQ by Petri Kuusisto(ex Carnal Forge, In Thy Dreams etc). The vinyl 7" should be out early 2012. Hopefully we can do some liveshows and maybe work on a fullength 2012, time shall tell...hail!!


Studio album
- Splenium for Nyktophobia  (1994)

- Transportation to the Uncanny  (1991)
- Nyktalgia  (1992)

- The Path of Flesh  (2012)
- Liturgy  (2016)

- Avesta Mangel I  (1991)
- Uncanny / Ancient Rites  (1993)
- Only Death Is Left Alive / The Reaping  (2017)

- MCMXCI - MCMXCIV  (2010)


Current members:
Kennet Englund - Drums (1990-1994, 2008-present)
Fredrik "North" Norrman - Guitars (1990-1994, 2008-present)
Mikael Hanni - Vocals (2016-present)

Past members:
Christoffer Harborg - Bass (1990-1994)
Jens Törnroos - Vocals (1990-1994, 2008-2015)
Mats Forsell - Guitars (1992-1994)
Mattias "Kryptan" Norrman - Bass (2008-2015)
Johan Jansson - Guitars (2008-2011)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.