Genre: Death/Sludge Metal
Origin: Sweden
Status: Active

Usurpress is a death metal-band (of sorts) formed in Uppsala, Sweden, May 2010. The musical aim of founding members Stefan Pettersson (vocals), Påhl Sundström (guitar) and Calle Andersson (drums) was, and still is, to combine the bestiality of old death metal and the undying hate of true hardcore/punk. The band was later joined by renowned death metal-expert Daniel Ekeroth (bass). The members all come from different musical backgrounds but their common ground is the love and understanding for all kinds of dark and aggressive underground music.

Usurpress write short, aggressive songs based around wierd, dissonant death metal riffs and raw, primitive d-beat drumming. It has to be said right now that this eclectic mixture of styles, spiced with handfulls of progrock and psychedelica, is not for everybody. However, most people will certainly enjoy their aggressive live performances.
The quartet’s debut offering, the 4-song demo simply called Demo 2010, soon led to record deals with various European underground labels and so far the band has released the mini-LP In Permanent Twilight (2011) and the full length albums Trenches of the Netherworld (2012) and Ordained (2014).


Studio albums
- Trenches of the Netherworld (2012)
- Ordained (2014)
- The Regal Tribe (2016)

- Demo 2010 (2010)

- In Permanent Twilight (2011)

- Bombs of Hades / Usurpress (2011)
- Usurpress / Pyramido (2012)
- Usurpress / Bent Sea (2013)


Current members:
Daniel Ekeroth - Bass (2010-present)
Påhl Sundström - Guitars (2010-present)
Stefan Pettersson - Vocals (2010-present)
Matte Modin - Drums (2016-present)

Past members:
Lawrence Mackrory - Bass (2010)
Calle Andersson - Drums (2010-2016)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.