Genre: Death Metal
Origin: Canada
Status: Active

Since the band's inception in October 2003, Vengeful went through numerous personnel changes to finally end up with the working nucleus of Marc-André Grenier (vocals) and Jean-Marie Leblanc (guitar) as core members. The pair first released Tragedy Lies Ahead... in June 2005. At that time, founder and songwriter Leblanc had already begun the writing process for what was to become the band's first full-length: Karma, released in June 2007 through Disconcert Music. The Karma album was generally well-received aside from the occasional complaint on the production side. It saw the group exploring with influences ranging from death metal to classical guitar with hypnotic black metal passages.

The writing for the sophomore album started in early January 2006 and, as 2007 brought more line-up changes, the band welcomed Emmanuel Pronovost as lead guitarist in March 2008. Subsequently, Vengeful entered Chris Donaldson's studio (Cryptopsy, The Last Felony) with Etienne Gallo (Negativa) as a session musician to lay down the drum tracks for the upcoming album and the five-song EP Tempted By Nightmares released in November 2008. Long-time bass player Etienne Bayard then opted to quit the band to focus on his professional career, leaving an empty bass slot temporary filled by Olivier Pinard (Neuraxis). The quartet then added drummer Philip Truesdell to its roster.

In early 2009, Leblanc undertook the recording of the guitars and bass for the second full-length and completed the effort with Hugues Deslauriers (Augury, First Fragment). Self-released in August 2009, The Omnipresent Curse saw the band establishing its signature sound with cuts like opener "Forsaken", the hypnotic "Anguish", the sludgy "Lapsus" and the standout 21-minute epic closer "Transcending" (featuring Luc Lemay (Gorguts)).

2010 passed by quickly with only a few live performances; the band was hard at work having already demoed 6 new songs for the upcoming third album. Having shared the stage with local favourites: Augury, Kataklysm, Quo Vadis and Unexpect and with a renewed confidence in its line-up Vengeful has taken on the challenge of putting together a double-album entitled Vengeful. The studio was again booked with Chris Donaldson for September 2010, with a November 29th date set for the album's release in 2011.


Studio albums
- Karma  (2007)
- The Omnipresent Curse  (2009)
- Vengeful  (2011)
- Karma MMXIII  (2013)

- Karma Promo  (2006)

- Tragedy Lies Ahead...  (2005)
- Tempted by Nightmares  (2008)


Current members:
Jean-Marie Leblanc - Guitars, Vocals (backing) (2003-present)
E. Bayard - Vocals (2004, 2014-present), Bass (2006-2009)
Olivier Pinard - Bass (2009, 2011-2013, 2014-present)
Philip Truesdell - Drums (2009-2013, 2015-present)

Past members:
Alex LeBlanc - Vocals (2003-2004)
S. Dufour - Guitars (2005-2007)
Marc-André Grenier - Vocals (2005-2011)
Jean-Sébastien Gagnon - Drums (2006-2007)
Alexandre Pelletier - Drums (2007)
Emmanuel Pronovost - Guitars, Vocals (backing) (2008-2011), Vocals (2012-2014)
Étienne Gallo - Drums (2009, 2013-?)
Philippe "Pat" Tougas - Guitars, Vocals (backing) (2011-2014)
Philippe Boucher - Drums (2014)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.