Genre: Death Metal/Hardcore
Origin: United States
Status: Active

Following the initial vinyl release of Xibalba's Madre Mía Gracias Por Los Días debut full-length in 2011, Southern Lord released a CD pressing of the album, as part of its ongoing underground series. Madre Mía Gracias Por Los Días stormed the hardcore world with its apocalyptic, down-tuned, slow-motion brutality, the band's ultra-energizing buildups and relentlessly brutal breakdowns instantly drawing comparisons to Disembodied, Bloodlet, and the heaviest of the late 90s/early 00s hardcore scene and kings of low-end, groove-laden death metal like Crowbar, Obituary and Sepultura.

Hasta La Muerte is the band's first full-length album for Southern Lord. It's a lethal collision of brutal death metal, vicious hardcore and oppressive sludge. Taking the concept of heavy to a new, crushing level. It was recorded and roduced by Taylor Young. Greg Anderson of Sunn O))), Goatsnake and Southern Lord has collaborated with the band on 2 tracks: "Flood" and "Cold". Anderson's sub-bass six string warfare seamlessly integrates within the ultra-heaviness of the Xibalba sound. The band's songwriting, performance and recording of the album shows Xibalba taking a giant leap forward. Hasta La Muerte will firmly establish the group as a force to be reckoned with as well as new leaders within the underground metal scene.


Studio albums
- Madre mía gracias por los días  (2010)
- Hasta la muerte  (2012)
- Tierra y libertad  (2015)

- 12.2012  (2007)

- Diablo, Con Amor​.​. Adios.  (2017)

- Earthquake Split  (2010)
- Incendiary / Xibalba  (2012)
- Xibalba / Suburban Scum  (2014)


Current members:
Jensen Hucle - Bass
Mike Salazar - Guitars
Jason Brunes - Drums (2007-present)
Brian Ortiz - Guitars (2007-present)
Nate Rebolledo - Vocals (2007-present)

Past members:
Bryan Valdivia - Bass (2007-?)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.